1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tips to doing well in University

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by teluphone, Aug 1, 2013.

1. teluphone

Just wanted to see whether there are people here willing to share some tips. I know its different for everyone in terms of the preferential studying method

2. BudderMC

Honestly, I'm terrible at studying. If I knew how to study/had the willpower to do so, I'd be a model student. It is literally the one thing I really can't do school-wise. For me, I find that teaching concepts works really well, though it depends on the class. For a really theoretical science-based class, I go study with friends, but do it in such a way that we divvy up the lectures and teach them to each other. It takes a long time, but it's effective. Similarly, if I'm studying by myself, I try and condense my notes in such a way that I can read these barebone notes and still be able to explain everything that I learned.

Test out different methods though - different things work better for different people. Otherwise, good things to keep in mind:

1) Keep a regular (and healthy) sleep schedule at all times. Instead of using staying up late to finish assignments/study as a viable option, consider it a last resort. A prof of mine once told me "Would you rather stay up all night and know 90% of the material but only be able to produce 50% since you're exhausted, or go to bed knowing 70% of the material but produce 100% since you're rested?". That one always puts it into perspective for me.

2) Keep a healthy diet/avoid caffeine. Honestly, eat and sleep regularly and you'll have no need for caffeine. It's not that complicated, though harder to stop once you start (like any drug).