1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Monogamy and abuse

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Hexagon, Aug 1, 2013.

1. Hexagon

Alright, so some of you may have heard about my brother, who is apparently abusive in relationships.

This, along with my general attitude towards sex and social issues has led me to a question:

Is monogamy really the best type of relationship? It seems to me that if polyamory were the norm, that the type of abuse in relationships that my brother perpetrates (Isolating and controlling his girlfriend, with or without violence, that is still an unhealthy relationship, and its still abuse) would probably be unheard of.

What do you guys think?

Oh, and please be civil. I know that poly in general can be a controversial topic. I'm in no way suggesting that monogamy causes abuse or anything.

2. MerBear

I don't know. I prefer it because I'm not good at multitasking hahaha. thats a joke. but It's not the best type of relationship but i think, it's just simpler and that's why the majority prefer it but it can cause many many problems so can polygamy relationships but I feel one on one, is a bit more complicated

3. LinkLarkin

I've read something interesting somewhere that suggests that the fact that humans cheat, stray, leave, or at the very least notice other attractive people while they're in relationships, means that we are not naturally monogamous and should not consider mating for life to be the norm. I don't know if that's true but it's an interesting thought.