1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I never want to fall in love

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by MoyashiAlice, Aug 1, 2013.

1. MoyashiAlice

Hi~
    This may sound weird but I never want to be in a romantic relationship or have kids. I have been saying this for over 6 years (grade 9- to current). Many people seem to think I will change my find but I don't think so. I have mild PTSD, social anxiety, a fear of intimacy, a dislike of touch and am an introvert. I've never been in a relationship either.
    This brings me to my main question.

Is there any way not to fall in love???

It would bring me nothing but unhappiness if I did ever fall in love. Even in my dreams when someone flirts with me I get upset and try to avoid them. Any comments are appreciated. :slight_smile:

2. Hexagon

I know how you feel, in some ways.

I don't think I'd be able to sleep in the same bed as someone else, ever. I dislike being with people. I can't trust people. I'm scared of intimacy. I don't even know if I'd want to have sex.

I don't know. Maybe by separating yourself from anyone who you develop feelings for? Or maybe you won't fall in love.

3. Hrantou

Sounds like me, but I don't know how it works in practice. Humans kinda just look for companionship without really even thinking about it. Its like a natural genetic response. If you seem someone you think would make a good "mate" then you can't really help but feel attracted.

Not to say it isn't possible. I think you might just have to work on it. Sort of train yourself to not go there mentally. Separate yourself from anyone you might feel attracted to.

I don't know anyone who can do this successfully though. I know I've tried and I'm trying right now to get on with my life with the idea that I don't want anyone because...well for various reasons. I think its just something that if you truly want it, you gotta work at it, like all things in life.