1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finding Amazing Beauty in Simple Things

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Data, Oct 31, 2013.

1. Data

Data Guest

I have a habit of finding jaw dropping beauty in the simplest of things. I just find our world and our universe so amazing when you look at it and examine what is actually going on. Many times my physics teacher has made me speechless by performing "tricks" and demonstrations that show physics principles in cool ways. I was amazed when I was able to move his jeep by sitting on a tow rope that was pulled taught, and I was amazed when we made a giant hot air balloon that rose from the heat of the sunlight.

In all of these instances, I knew what would happen (it was a conceptual physics class) but actually seeing it happen and watching it occur before me eyes was the most spectacular part about the demonstration!

I've never used the YouTube tags before, so hopefully I can get it right the first shot. Here are two videos from the ISS that is in orbit around Earth. The first is of a wet cloth being wrung out in 0G environment. The second is how a female astronaut washes her long hair in a 0G environment.

Since the ISS is actually really close to Earth, the astronauts feel almost ALL of the gravity you and I feel. The thing is, they are traveling forward as they are falling down. They essentially fall a little and move forward a lot, so they never quite lose a lot of altitude. They are in free fall and don't feel as if they are in a gravitational field. NASA has a plane that climbs to a very high altitude and then free falls back to Earth producing the same 0G conditions. It is called the "Vomit Comet" and is used to train new astronauts.

Here are the vids:

[YOUTUBE]lMtXfwk7PXg[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]kOIj7AgonHM[/YOUTUBE]