1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

For the life of me, I can't figure this out.

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by justjade, Nov 5, 2013.

1. justjade

OK, so I work mostly with women and some guys. Some of the other guys and I punch each other. What I'm wondering is.....why? We don't do it to hurt each other. It's all in good fun. I'm not out to them, but I don't see them punching any of the girls. I like punching them. I like being punched. It's fun. But why is it fun? Why do I enjoy it? Why do they? And for that matter, why the hell are we doing it? I've seen other guys punch each other, so I figure it's just a guy thing since I'm pretty new to it, but seriously, what is the deal?

Or is that all wishful thinking, and they're really doing it because of some weird attraction like kids in elementary school do?

Any insight is greatly appreciated, and as a note to the staff, if this needs moved, please move it. I wasn't sure where to post this.

2. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Well, the plain truth is...guys are just plain dumb and they do dumb things like punch each other randomly.

Sorry!

3. justjade

I figured it was something like that. I can live with it. It's almost like they're somehow acknowledging my abrasive manliness somehow. :lol:

4. gravechild

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Here's what I've heard: it's a way of indirectly exposing weak spots in one another, almost like friendly sparring. Groups of guys operate a lot more like a team or a cohort, and while they might not be huge on verbal affirmation, one positive trait I'll mention when it comes to my guy friends is that most of them are steady; they will be there for you when you need it.