1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kinsey Scale

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Beware Of You, Nov 19, 2013.

1. Beware Of You

Am I the only one who doesn't believe in it?

I am doing a PhD in Psychology and one one of the Stats modules we do, the lecturer practically ripped the research to shreds as its sample size is a fraction what it needs to be to be valid.

2. Sitri

I don't believe it, but it is useful. The scale itself is terrible but the idea, that sexuality is not just straight bi or gay, is good. It destresses the importance of lables and allows one to truly think about who they are.

3. Beware Of You

I guess but in Psychology nothing is ever black and white, I know more than others being genderqueer, okay I have man parts but there is a little bit of me that is a badass rock chick i

4. Tetraquark

Tetraquark Guest

The Kinsey Scale has its uses in the same way that the solar-system-like model of the atom has its uses. However, neither corresponds with reality, only giving a glimpse of the true situation. The old model of the atom conveys that the nucleus is at the center and the electrons somewhere around it. The Kinsey scale conveys that there is more to sexuality than gay, straight, or bi.

Where the Kinsey scale falls flat is that it doesn't capture the complexity of human sexuality. The one way it fails is in implying that, as your attraction to one gender diminishes, your attraction to the other must increase. This erases people on the asexual- and aromantic-spectra. It also assumes a gender binary, and treats all types of attraction as equal and similar in nature.

Looking at my sexuality, for example, I could pick and choose definitions of attraction and end up anywhere from a 1 to a 6 to an X, if I'm on the chart at all (i.e. I have to say I'm female for it to work, but that's only partially correct).

5. I think for it's time it was groundbreaking research