1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3D paper crafting

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by azrae1, Dec 30, 2013.

1. azrae1

azrae1 Guest

Hi everyone!

I'm new to crafting and paper related craft work, since i can't remember when was the last time i have cut and glued papers together to make something worth keeping but anyways. So this week i after studying french and watched history channel on french revolution i decided to work on a 3D paper model of Palais de Versailles in Paris but i need some help and advises on how to tackle some issues i have come across, here are the pictures of the completed château 1 part of 8 châteaux (Note this is just a small sample of actually the big thing):

Images

http://oi43.tinypic.com/2m2zw4w.jpg

http://oi43.tinypic.com/2meu2vc.jpg

I only used office paper A4 & glue stick (which i think made it look horrible).The office paper is thin and not good for small scales, i was wondering can normal printers print on hard or thicker papers? or are ordinary printers can't print only but on A4 thin office type? Secondly; what are good glues out there that are good for 3D paper crafting. Thanks any help will be appreciated :grin:!

2. Ridiculous

I've done some Pokemon ones which you can see in my album here! http://emptyclosets.com/forum/members/9296-albums4853.html

I just use regular A4 office paper and it works fine; however there and lots of little folds and pieces in those which help to keep the shape. Your models have quite large flat sections which would naturally bend, so you might want some heavier paper for that sort of thing.

Glue sticks aren't suitable at all - get some regular liquid PVA glue and use that. I use a cotton swab or a toothpick to apply it, or even the point of a pin depending on how small and tricky the piece is.

3. resu

Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people