1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best way to Study this..

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Mrcake, Jan 6, 2014.

1. Mrcake

What is the best way to study/learn organic chemistry? I have to take it this semester and I struggle with chemistry. I took it for a month last semester and had to drop it due to my class load. Does anyone have any advice or websites that I can go to for learning? I used Khanacademy on youtube for help and the tutor center at my university. I really need to pass this class ( a C at minimum), and my teacher is really bad. Please help! :eek:

2. Jwis

I don't have any websites, but I am a chemist so I know a thing or two.

How I passed: Flashcards. Most of chemistry is pure memorization. Bring them with you everywhere. Even if you have 5 minutes take em out and go through them. Repetition is the key.

If you ever need any help to feel free to ask =) I love chemistry!

3. Foxface

It sounds so rude, but the For Dummies books have a knack for simplifying things. I'd also agree flashcards are a fantastic idea

Foxface

4. AlamoCity

Maybe it'd help to get a model kit or some way to model molecules in 3D if you ever have issues mentally visualizing the chirality/stereochemistry of molecules.

5. Jwis

You're absolutely right.

It helped me with identifying the configurations of the chiral carbons a lot.

And don't forget about the countless hours on the 5th floor of the library while your friends are out having a good time, sorry that was me.

#5 Jwis, Jan 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  6. resu

Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people