1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Studying French

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by azrae1, Jan 9, 2014.

1. azrae1

azrae1 Guest

Hi Everyone, i was wondering is there any one on EC that is currently studying french? I'm not creating this thread to attract francophones who already speak it fluently but rather Beginner to intermediate level's. I'm currently studying French for proficiency and its been 4 months now, it has been bit slow the past month because of my university studies but now will be back on it next week. It would be nice to bump into EC members who are currently studying it and sharing methods to learn the language easier and quicker. :icon_bigg

2. LongMayIReign

I'm in French 3 this year at school :slight_smile: I've been learning it for a little over two years.

3. Aussie792

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I study French. My reading's okay, but I can't speak further than asking for coffee, ordering dinner, or introducing myself and saying what I have/haven't. I'm taking French for the next two years at an intermediate level.

4. Daydreamer1

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I took two years of it in high school. I never retained much though. Speaking, not much. Same goes for hearing it. But reading it, I can do a bit more.

Personally, if you have experience with another romantic language like Spanish or Italian, it makes learning a bit easier (which is why Latin was easier for me to learn). Making flash cards for yourself and taking small classes will help.

5. Tightrope

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people