1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Homophobia in the Workplace

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by willycubed28, Jan 18, 2014.

1. willycubed28

So I work in the food industry as a server and bartender, and there is this one guy who keeps spouting his opinion on homosexuality and how he thinks it is a sin. Well, yesterday he was listening to a conversation that me and a friend was having and he interrupted and asked me if gay relationships were the same as having straight relationships. Me and the girl said that Yes. The only thing that is difference is it is two men or two women instead of one man and one woman. He then responded "I don't know about that. I don't think they are the same"

I was offended and so was the girl. The girl actually looked to him and said "Man this is 2014. Get with it. We are not in highschool anymore and those kind of questions are not okay. You don't like it then you shouldn't be listening to our conversation"

Does anyone else have problems with this, or have one co-worker that is homophobic

2. Munyal

School is somewhat similar to a workplace, and there are quite a few homophobic people there. I just do what your friend did. Tell him that what he is saying is fine for him to believe, but that he doesn't need to say it out loud, because it is offensive.

I have a few friends that are unconsciously homophobic, and what I do is just tell them what they are saying, and that usually shuts them up. I know of several people that are intentionally homophobic, and I tell them how, even though they may not realize it, they are making themselves look foolish and ignorant.

Foolish is actually an excellent word to use, because it is insulting, yet eloquent.

3. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    "those kind of questions are not okay"