1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

(UK immigration) Anything I need to think about now?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Necromancer, Feb 10, 2014.

1. Necromancer

Necromancer Guest

It's years off, but eventually I will be relocating from California to the United Kingdom. I am a US Citizen, and have never left the country. My family hasn't lived in Great Britain since the days of Queen Victoria. I am currently an undergraduate student in Anthropology (focused on Archaeology). I plan to go to graduate school to study Archaeology with a focus on either Viking Age Britain, Ancient Britain, or Victorian Britain. I would prefer to get my bachelor's degree in America and my graduate degree in the UK, but I understand that it may end up costing too much money.

Immigrating to the UK is a matter of practicality. It is very hard to search for artifacts relating to British history and culture if I am not present in Britain, and continually commuting between the US and UK is a nonstarter. Since I will be spending my whole career in the UK I intend to go for citizenship once eligible, and stay in the UK after retirement. Once I leave for the UK, I do not plan on living in the US again (though I will certainly return for vacations).

Now, I grant that it's still pretty early, but I'm wondering if anyone here knows of anything I need to be doing in school here in the US to maximize my chances of getting into school in the UK, or some things I could start doing now that would make me look more attractive to the people at immigration when I start going through the process.

2. Necromancer

Necromancer Guest

Does anyone know anything of the feasibility of going from community college in the US an undergraduate program in the UK?

3. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone