1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP!! Don't want to be homeless!!!

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by DrkRayne, Feb 18, 2014.

1. DrkRayne

I'm dealing with bitchy landlord at the moment. I'm not sure what to do.

I've been renting the same condo for over a couple of years and my lease came up for renewal on the 7th. At that time I was assigned a couple of more subject areas at work, so I was working till 7pm or later. Takes me an hour to get home, so yeah.
    My landlord asked me to stop by her place last week to renew the lease. I said I would, but work got in the way. I called her during the week to explain me working late, not being home till 8pm or later, and she said it was fine, just contact her when I can come by. Friday when I got home, my fiancee surprised me with a weekend out of town. Completely forgot about the lease. We left, didnt get back till Sunday night.

I turn on my phone Sunday night and there is an angry message from my landlord telling me that I have to move out by the end of the month because I am trying to "hold over" my lease which is illegal and she won't accept payment without a new lease.
    I've tried contacting her since Sunday night (after hours) telling her to come by my job or I got hers, or meet me at the condo late or I can come by late to her house, or even fax it, if she allows it, to sign the papers. I've called from my office multiple times, since my cell doesnt get much signal in the building, I've text her after work and attempted to call her. No answer. She won't respond.
    I've never been late with a payment, the last two times she had NO issue with me signing the lease. I'm only 7 days over. Why is she suddenly being so mean? I'm a stable tenant. We take care of the condo. We pay on time. The only time she has to pay for something to get fixed was when the furnace sensor went out.