1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Could someone look over my letter of extenuating circumstances?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by MoyashiAlice, Feb 22, 2014.

1. MoyashiAlice

Hi guys~

My greatest dream or goal of this year is to get into my top school's nursing program. However, the average to get in is quite high (87-90%). I do have a 87%, but know that this might not be high enough. In high school, I went through a rough time which affected my marks. I wrote a letter explaining my circumstances and what I then did to repair the damage to the school I want to get into.

However, since this letter outlines my mental disorders I am terrified of letting anyone I know read it. My best friend offered to read the letter after I told her I was writing a letter to the university, but I'm too scared to let her see what I have been hiding for the past three years. My parents also don't approve of me writing the letter, as they think it will hinder me while the opposite is true.

If someone could look it over for me, that would be a HUGE help. I am worried that it is too long but more importantly that there may be some punctuation/spelling mistakes. Since I am sending it to my university, it has to be perfect. Thanks everyone~

Alice

2. setnyx

i am not sure if any letter would be a good idea. if you have the grade to get in, i wouldn't write one at all. alot of employers / teacher's don't want to know the past just what you're doing now. some may even conscientiously or unconsciously judge you negatively. also i have tried to describe my circumstances to teachers / employers and their response was usually " please don't try to make excuses*. hope this helps and good luck.

3. SwimScotty

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people