1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What happens at LGBT support groups?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by hinsegin, Feb 26, 2014.

1. hinsegin

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I am 17 and am going to a teen LGBT group for the first time this weekend. I am not technically out to my family but I make it pretty obvious I am gay and they are ok with taking me. I am extremely shy so I don't really want to talk and I can't stop worrying about what will happen there. Does anyone have any experience?

2. Agathist

Out Status:
    A few people
    I recently went to one that had around 5 people and it was awesome, I went to another 17-24 group with 15+ and was too overwhelmed to talk.
    The way they work where I go is they go around the room doing introductions, preferred name/pronouns and sometimes a quirky question as an icebreaker, after that you are free to sit there and listen without much input, but I hope you find a group that you're comfortable in and eventually get to open up.

3. hinsegin

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Oh geez that sounds a bit terrifying since I am awful at introducing myself to groups of people, especially with my parents there.

4. Agathist

Out Status:
    A few people
    Maybe ask them not to come, if you would prefer it that way. No teen is comfortable around peers with their parents and a good reason would to say it may make the other teens uncomfortable or make you unapproachable to them, if it takes convincing?

5. Bolt35

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone