1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Natural Disasters......

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by anthonythegamer, Mar 28, 2014.

1. Just about 20 minutes ago, we just got an earthquake in SoCal. Yes, I'm fine; it was one of those tiny ones. I was seriously unprepared for something like this since I pretty much just sat on my chair and didn't get out. Also, I had no personal earthquake kits. Plus, the last earthquake I felt was the Chino Hills earthquake six years ago.

This event seriously got me thinking how you guys prepare for natural disasters such as tornadoes, hurricanes, and severe downpours and blizzards. It's probably a bit easier for you guys since weather-related disasters are more predictable, but how do you guys deal with them?

2. AlamoCity

Well, I am a total preparedness expert :lol:. I have several weeks worth of bottled water and months worth of freeze-dried/dehydrated foods under my bed. I also have emergency flashlights and batteries in my desk near by bed (plus, the smart phone has the LED light :lol:slight_smile:. Also, I have a waterproof/fireproof safe in my room that has originals to all our powers of attorney, health care proxies, important documents, etc. which I later plan to digitize and keep in a separate location). The pantry also has plenty of food that's non-perishable and our freezer is stocked with meats that we would eat after we eat whatever is in the fridge. I also like to keep some cash (not credit/debit) on hand just in case. There are probably other things I do that I consider second-nature now but I really like to prepare because it brings me comfort. There's also an entire drawer in my dresser drawer that I have as an stockpile of first-aid gear.

I don't go overboard like others you see on TV, but I like to handle the basics.

3. Kat 5

A nice sturdy table will do ya fine in an earthquake.

4. BradThePug

Gender Pronoun:
    He