1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Writer's Block

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by JohnB, May 13, 2014.

1. JohnB

Any writers here? If so, then you know about writer's block, well, you don't HAVE to be a known writer or not, just someone who has ever written on a card, or you ever wanted to put your own spin on any phrase or song or anything, etc...

Anyway, how do you deal with writer's block? The idea of just getting started? Knowing what you wanna write? Any advice?

2. Daydreamer1

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm a writer and I wish I had advice when it comes to conquering the monster that is writer's block. Sometimes music can break it and give me motivation or help me envision a scene for one of my plays or stories, or a certain moment from a movie.

3. JohnB

Well, one quote I like is, when struck with writer's block is:

"Write down everything that won't happen next. You never know what will and won't work"

4. Daydreamer1

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    There's a writer blog on tumblr that posts pictures of things and asks you to write a scene or something about it. If I find it, I'll put a link up.

5. kem

kem

Well, I have had artist's blocks in the past, and the best way to deal with them is to stop thinking about whatever you're working on and start focusing on something else entirely. Go for a walk, look at the Discovery Channel, read the newspaper...

6. JohnB

Oh and one more thing I came across was actually from Big Bang Theory.

Sheldon's working on a theory and racking his brain, so he finds a menial task to do to keep his mind and body busy for his epiphany to ease in. To get his brain juices flowing.

Also hilarious scene.

[YOUTUBE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfAL3wSM3HQ[/YOUTUBE]

7. AudreyB

AudreyB Guest

Define "writer"