1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Authors/Artists

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by trauma, May 18, 2014.

1. trauma

Just wondering how many of you here are poets, writers and artists? Do you feel that being queer shapes your artistic expressions?

2. Hexagon

I'm a writer, primarily, but I also do a bit of drawing, mostly things from my books. I used to be terrible at drawing, but now I'm actually pretty good. Apparently practice is helpful :slight_smile: I also do a fair bit of digital drawing, like this very detailed map I made for my book.

Yes, I suspect queerness does have something to do with it. My characters aren't all heterosexual for one, and I don't confine them to gender roles much. But being queer is also another perspective on life, and I don't see how it could fail to shape said experiences.

Are you a creator, trauma?

3. Shaded

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I'm Artistic, I don't think my Orientation plays a part in my artwork.
    I almost always draw females even though I'm not attracted to them, I think the female body has a unique beauty.

4. trauma

Thanks for sharing, Hexagon!! Yes, I do a bit of writing now and then! I find writing very liberating

5. TheStudent

TheStudent Guest

I write short stories and initially my orientation had no relation to it but recently I've felt like it's creeping more and more into what I do.

So maybe in my case it does influence.

6. trauma

That's cool!! Thanks for sharing

---------- Post added 18th May 2014 at 10:46 AM ----------

Would love to read your stories!!

7. Fugs

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Poetry and a little art. Mostly dark stuff from a depressed mind.

8. Hexagon

Thats cool. What kind of stuff do you write?

9. DeliriousMess

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family