1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is coming out easier for lesbians or gays?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by adrianislander, Jun 24, 2014.

1. adrianislander

okay now let me start by apologizing for asking the question in the first place! i know this is totally subjective but from my observations in my community it seems to me the the public is generally more accepting of lesbian relationships than they are of gay relationships. i know of only two out gay couples in my community while there are several lesbian couples in comparison. i just thought i'd ask the question! and again i'm sorry if i offend anyone! i'm new at this...

2. Fallingdown7

Fallingdown7 Guest

I would say it just depends on the situation. I've seen many lesbians on EC who were disowned, beaten, and told death threats by their parents after coming out. Some parents are more accepting toward lesbians true, while others are more accepting toward gay men.

I don't think either of us have it harder or easier since we face discrimination in different ways.

3. stocking

stocking Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    My dad caught me kissing a girl and I got beaten for it , I don't think he would take me being a lesbian very well . I've even heard of a woman getting stabbed by her mother when she caught her making love with another woman .

My own mother feels sorry for gay men on tv when their mothers and fathers say hurtful and homophobic things to her or when someone harms a gay man . but with lesbians she says we're stupid for liking other women and she says she needs to be raped to cure her liking women .

I'm not doing a who has it worse here i say it depends on their parents and family because to me either is easier .

4. QueerTransEnby

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    This is the saddest thing ever. Wow.

5. PlantSoul

Gender Pronoun:
    She