1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fatal Car Crashes

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by ZenMusic, Jul 30, 2014.

1. ZenMusic

I am shit scared of driving right now, but statistics say these types of car crashes are going down, it's not me I'm afraid of, it's my car malfunctioning and going a terrifying speed, or suddenly loising traction. Would you say that the number of fatal crashes are going down, and do you think they will be likely to happen a lot on 10 years time?

2. Brodie

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I have been driving for four years and I haven't even seen a crash, let alone a fatal one. I can't offer you statistics but driving in the UK is pretty okay, and you are like 3 years from even being allowed to drive so I wouldn't let this bother you.

When you learn to drive they will teach you safe practice and defensive driving. You will have the skills to avoid these types of situations so whether they happen or not providing you drive safely you will be able to protect yourself regardless.

They will also teach you about the car and malfunctioning, most of which is nothing like what is depicted. If you are driving and something messes up just let the car come to a stop naturally and you can sort it. Don't worry about something which hasn't even happened or may never happen, otherwise you will start worrying about everything.

Don't limit yourself because of fear. Get on planes. Drive a car. Do it.

3. timo

Yep, the number of fatal car crashes is going down and I imagine it'll be even lower in a few years time. Modern cars are safer than ever. Every modern car has like 400 airbags, advanced braking systems and what else. This, combined with your driving lessons, should be more than enough. I've been driving for >6 years and trust me - you have to drive VERY recklessly to "suddenly lose traction", or something like that.