1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ugh, i don't want to work on Haiti :(

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Straight ally, Aug 18, 2014.

1. Straight ally

Santiago de los caballeros, Dominican Republic
    I'm a civil engineering student, and i will graduate by june. On the positive side of things...Canada is recruiting people from 50 different professions! and civil engineering is among them! And i have only heard positive things about Canada, so this might be great, i really want to work there.

problem is... althought they will need young professionals, just recently graduated is to young for them, i probably will need job experience, and i don't know how much ¿a year? ¿2 years? ¿3 years? i don't know really.

But wait, that is not really the problem. the thing is that at my country (Domininan Republic) the construction industry is going slow, making difficult to find jobs for civil engineers inside the country.

In my case my father is working for the company Estrella at the neighboring country, Haiti, and he have good reputation at the company, and the company needs young professionals, so i will probably end working there, specialy because my internship was 40 days there.

How is this a problem? you might ask, i mean, i have the priviledge of actually getting the opportunity of getting a job right on, a job with a salary that is aproximately twice or thrice what i would usually get as a recently graduated. The thing is that, if its only a year that might be difficult but bearable, on the other hand i'm scared of working there for 2 or 3 years.