1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question for people who are good with history

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Ticklish Fish, Sep 6, 2014.

1. Ticklish Fish

I just want to ask how is lgbt rights similar or different from women's right. a lot of time i see that gay rights are equated with the slavery/african american rights history part of america where extremist political churches would use bible verses and quotes and other ideology. but what about women's right? is it the same?

if you can provide links for me to read too, that would be great!

2. wolf of fire

I studied history for GCSE and yes it is quite similar, one of the main similarities is work based many women were paid less than men and getting married was a reasonable reason to fire them. Their place and the way they were viewed in society was largely influenced by religion. It is also similar to civil rights as there was a time when no one cared about black people being beaten up, raped or murdered simply because they were black which is also true in some parts of the world for LGBT.

3. Wuggums47

Wuggums47 Guest

Well, I believe that LGBTQ rights and Women's rights are fighting the same thing. They are fighting gender roles. A woman is forced in to a specific set of gender roles, and LGBTQs are also seen as breaking their gender roles. A woman being forced to live the rest of her life as a housewife is gender inequality. A trans* person being forced to conform to their birth sex is gender inequality. A gay man being told he must date women is gender inequality.

4. Ticklish Fish

2 responses so far, yay!

to elaborate the question, has there been extreme anti-women's right politicians/church extremist who would go as far as having a political platform for being against women's right? or protesting and holding signs? or actually commit murder because of some sexist phobia of women taking over and causing apocalypse?