1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you be incapable of love?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by confuseduser99, Sep 14, 2014.

1. confuseduser99

I've always wondered this. I've never been in a relationship. For all of my life until recently, this has been because I was in the closet.

I've been coming out since late April, when I finally admitted to myself that I'm gay. I've still never been in a relationship. Is this because I'm "incapable of love"? They say you need to love yourself first before you can love someone else. Can this be my problem (i'm still working on feeling comfortable in my skin, etc.)?

I do think I have a problem with connecting with people sometimes. Hence the reason why my social life is such a bore. I feel like I've been going through a mid-mid-mid life crisis. Virtually no social life, a handful of friends, living a lonely life, and I'm in my last year of college (A little off-topic... just me ranting).

Anyway, can someone be incapable of love? If so, can this change?

2. Nychthemeron

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Have you considered that you were aromantic?

Aromantic people just don't feel romantic attraction, but it doesn't mean they're incapable of love! I have an aromantic friend and she says she loves her friends - just platonically. :lol:

But, it's possible that you just haven't met the right person yet.

I don't really believe the "to love, you must first love yourself" saying because a lot of people on here probably have the shittiest self esteem, but they still love others very, very much.

Don't worry too much about it. You've lived through two decades and a year, sure, but that's still very young. Take your time. It'll be okay. (*hug*)

3. confuseduser99