1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I think i chose the wrong career :/

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Straight ally, Sep 23, 2014.

1. Straight ally

Santiago de los caballeros, Dominican Republic
    A rant:

I'm studying civil engineering, and i am at the beginning of my sixth year, after this semester comes another with is the last one, so, only a semester plus what is left of my current semester. A bit too late to change careers.

The sensation of studying the wrong career probably begun developing 2 years and a half ago, but it reached its peak during my 40 days of internship on Haiti, and after that i have been questioning my career decision and seeing all the things i dont like about civil engineering and how there are others choices that in hindsight look as more obviously compatible careers.

I ran from medicine cause i had the idea in my mind that i didnt like chemistry and biology but it was more likely that i hated my chemistry teacher on highschool, and i love the human mind/brain/behaviour/therapy/helping others be so i could have studied medicine and then going to psychiatry, or i could have studied psychology, or i could have stufied something that compliments my interest in writing, maybe i could have been a teacher or a reporter, those dont have a good paycheck, but why do i want money if im not going to enjoy it that much?

On the other hand what i dont like about civil engineering?
    1- i prefer city over rural/mountains/middle of nowheres. And many construction labors are in the middle of nowhere, and i my case, at Dominican Republic, work opportunities are scarce, forcing engineers to either working in the absolute middle of nowhere/far from home and disorganized Haiti or in the middle of nowhere at solitary rural areas of DR with area little better than Haiti but also pay a lot less so its kind if a tie.