1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nationalism

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by skizze, Nov 8, 2014.

1. skizze

I studied nationalism in history class, and to me it's a very abstract concept. I understand it in my head but I don't feel it so I can't really fully comprehend it. According to a friend, most everyone feels nationalism, even if it doesn't go beyond rooting for one's nation in Olympics.

So do most people feel nationalism? And do people really feel happy if their country wins an international sports competition or such? Why??

2. Quem

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Actually, I don't even support my country in the Olympics sometimes. :lol: It depends. And I don't feel nationalistic at all, I want to move out of this country actually, but I won't do that for now. =) For later, I will, that's the plan. :icon_bigg

3. Hexagon

Most people do, of some kind. I don't, not even in the olympics.

4. OnTheHighway

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I think nationalistic feelings ebb and flow based on many factors: satisfaction with the government, state of the economy, periods of war, global athletic events, etc.