1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

moving to another country

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Split Arrows, Nov 28, 2014.

1. Split Arrows

Has anyone ever done it? What was your experience?

2. Pret Allez

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I haven't "moved" to another country, although I have lived in another country for a substantial period of time.

I earned my bachelor of science in computer science from the University of Victoria. So I was up in the lovely pacific northwest land of British Columbia.

I noticed one key difference between Victorians and Montanans (as well as Canadians versus Americans generally). I had many more positive experiences with strangers and generally felt that people were more attentive and compassionate than Americans, who overall tend to be more controlling, abusive and vindictive.

It was a great experience--would repeat.

3. DrinkBudweiser

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    i've never moved to another country, hell i've never visited another country. i have no desire to do so either. i'm sure there's great places out there but i'm a fucking american for life.

good luck though, i'm sure it'll be an interesting and hopefully fun transition!

4. AwesomGaytheist

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    That's what I'd like to do as soon as possible. As to where I'll go, that will depend on several factors. But really, I want out of this hellhole ASAP, and that's still several years off.

5. MissRanger

MissRanger Guest

My family is actually originally from S.E Asia and we immigrated in the U.S (WA) a few years back. My experience was overwhelming, I was very culturally shocked because everything was just new. My perception about the U.S through media was a bit different from what I've just witnessed.