1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do plants feel pain?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Lawrence, Feb 8, 2015.

1. Lawrence

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I just can't get over it. I've gotten into one of the strangest discussions of my life.

LOng story short; he believes plants can feel pain. I asked if he meant they can undergo agony and suffer like people and he says yes. He also believes plants can recognise people that previously hurt them. I've never heard of that and will have to research it. Although I think he's correct about plants communicating with trees.

I told him that plants don't have pain receptors. And he says; "oh, listen to professor plum." I am not a professor! Okay, plants respond to stuff, but I find it very difficult to believe they could feel pain anything like humans do.

So, if I gift flowers to somebody, is that a bit like a cat offering torn up dead mice to its owner? Such horrifying implications for valentine's day! Apples and oranges. My god, I'm sorry, I'm unable to be 100% serious right now.

I want to know what you think; be it agreement, disagreement, or something else.

2. CyanChachki

Plants do feel pain, yes. When you mow the grass, that fresh cut grass smell is a distress call. Maple trees also release a distress smell when they're being attacked by bugs. The smell is detected by nearby maple trees and they thicken their bark to protect themselves against possible oncoming bugs.

I don't think that they identify specific people though, but maybe more like specific creatures? I don't really believe that tbh.

3. Chiroptera

Admin Team Full Member

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Did a quick research on this.

-Susan Deal, Sheffield, UK