1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any fellow language learners here?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by blue6, Feb 10, 2015.

1. blue6

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I am currently trying to learn Spanish. It isnt easy but can be so rewarding when you start to understand things without effort

What languages are you learning andwhat stratgies work well for you?

I personally love a website called euronews, it has video news clips with transcripts underneath in a fair-few languages.

2. SamThes

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I studied French for a long time through formal education, and almost nothing stuck, really. Now I'm trying to learn Swedish. The strategy I've found that works the best is to put myself in situations where I have to learn it. For example, I set my phone to Swedish so I would be exposed to it more. That also set my Google Maps app to Swedish, so I got lost quite a bit for a while when I used that for directions. But after a couple of times, I no longer needed to glance down at the picture with arrows telling me where I needed to go; I could just understand it.

I also try to watch TV shows in Swedish and listen to music in Swedish. I'm particularly fond of Disney music for that, because it's familiar (it's pretty easy to get to listen to foreign language Disney music on YouTube). Oh, and since I'm a huge Harry Potter nerd and Pottermore offers the e-books, I'm slowly working on reading the series in Swedish, since I know what's going on but am learning new Swedish words (and sometimes pick up on grammar from that as well). I think I'm currently on chapter 4 of the first book though, so not sure how helpful that is lol.