1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First First Date - Help!

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Siarad, Mar 17, 2015.

1. Siarad

So I have been talking to a woman on a lesbian dating site for four weeks. We seem to have lots of similar interests and I've really enjoyed talking to her. Now she has said that she wants to meet. I want to meet up with her but I have never been on a date with a woman. I've never even had a first date with a man because my (very) short-lived relationship with a man, before acknowledging that I'm gay, was when I was at uni and we were living together anyway. I have no idea how to do a first date. I also don't know when or how to tell her that I have no experience with women and no real experience with men either. I don't know if that would be a total turnoff for somebody.

Any advice/ideas/tips that anyone can offer would be very much appreciated!

2. Kaiser

Kaiser Guest

There is your answer. If possible, try and make the date involve those common interests. A first date shouldn't be anything more than:

- Getting to know one another a bit.
    - Getting used to/comfortable around one another.
    - Having a nice/fun time.

I don't know what you and this woman are into, so I cannot give you any direct ideas. But if I may, let us say the two of you liked, for some reason, birds. Maybe have a meal outside somewhere, where there is a likelihood of seeing birds. To go with another random example, let us say the two of you liked, for some reason, reading. Maybe go browsing for a book together, which the two of you can read together. This would also allow you to, when you are apart, to have a way of being reminded of one another. It also, provided you both read this book, to have something to bond over and talk about, on any future get-together.