1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you feel about the modern gay "culture"? What would you keep/change?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by BigSwole, Apr 15, 2015.

1. BigSwole

Hello, my name is John, this is my first post. Thank you for listening, and hope you have a great night.

I am a writer, as well as persistently curious about the world and culture around me.

I was pondering about the current "gay culture" but more importantly about the media's portrayal of it and how that has affected you all personally.
    As this issue I was confronted with as well when I was a teen.
    The need to fit in, or fit in a clique or stereotype. Bear, flamboyant, twink, flamer, butch, dyke, lipstick, fluid, androgyne. In manners of speech, clothes, personality, style, sex, political/religious affliations.
    Some parts I felt acceptance, communally; others I felt I couldn't fit the niche or understand.

How about yourselves?
    Did meshing into the media-driven "status quo" sit okay with you, like a glove? Or like a round-peg, square hole?
    Are there things you wish the mass media would change?
    How did seeing these stereotypes affect you coming out? Did your idealologies change as you grew older or realize things aren't as they seem?

I knew they did for me, but I was wondering about yourselves.
    It had been a question I had been pondering for some time, seeing how the LGBT community is portrayed in social/televised media. And how it could affect 'new' people coming out of the closet.

I apologize for a long post, but am looking forward to constructive conversation and possibly help me overcome any hindrances I may find in myself.

Thanks. :slight_smile:

2. Jellal