1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questions about moving.

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by SriManayaDasan, Apr 16, 2015.

1. Sometime next year (around January/February) I think I'll finally be able to move out of my parents house. Of course, being that I'll have lived with parents for the vast majority of my 24 years on this earth, naturally I'll need some advice on the matter.

To give some context about myself:

1.) The places I'm considering are Salt Lake City and Cincinnati. I have friends who live in both places and both cities have relatively decent job markets. As well as relatively low costs of living.

2.) I have a Bachelors in psychology, with experience in retail, sales, inventory, office skills, and revenue management. I'm looking for jobs in sales (much, much preferably not in retail), non-profit, hospitality, data processing, accounting, administration, Human Resources, and similar fields. My student loans are around the $17K mark.

3.) While I would plan on staying with said friends until I found a decent job, I would more than likely move into a studio apartment when ready. Based on what I've read, I suppose my rent budget would be between $400-800 per month; with or without roommates.

4.) I should have about $10-12K saved up by next year.

With all of the aforementioned being said:

1.) Which of the 2 cities, based on my degree and skills, would have the better job opportunities? Does anyone have any idea about temp agencies in either SLC or Cincinnati?

2.) Would it be easier to go on ahead and apply for jobs out of state? Or just to wait until I can use an in-state address?

3.) Which of the 2 cities would have rent in the price range I listed?

4.) Of these two cities, which do you think would have the more "vibrant" LGBT community?

Sorry for the lengthy post. Just trying to figure things out. :lol:

#1 SriManayaDasan, Apr 16, 2015