1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Has anyone ever attended any Ivy league or other prestigious universities?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Jolly Roger, May 5, 2015.

1. Jolly Roger

Hi there. I just wanted to know if anyone has attended any top Ivy league schools, or other prodigious universities. I'm a sophomore in highschool at the momment, and I'm planning on applying to Stanford, University of Michigan, MIT, Cornell, and UPenn. If anyone has actually managed the astounding task of being accepted into any schools like this, what advice do you have to give, and was it worth all the work and money? I'm trying my absolute hardest right now in school, and statistically it seems that I have a shot. However, that's all it is, a shot.

2. LD579

The main advantages are the prestige and status of having it on your resume to flaunt, the opportunities you'll have at those schools, and the people and connections you'll make there. Is it worth the money? It depends on the person. It is, though, something that's rapidly losing its worth relative to before because of the changing standards of the world and ways to earn success. Innovation trumps all else, and that can't be attained anywhere.

It's good to have a goal, but I would say to make sure you also enjoy your high school experience. There is more to school and life than academic success, and many important things can be learned besides things in subjects, like teamwork, resolving conflicts, and making and maintaining connections of all kind. If you are enjoying your high school experience, then that's absolutely fantastic.