1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help to ace an audition!

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by EleanorHunter, May 5, 2015.

1. EleanorHunter

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Alright, to all the actors/actresses on EC, I would love some advice.

A theater company I've never worked with before is holding auditions for Little Shop of Horrors in about two weeks. I'm so excited, considering that's my favorite musical. That's also the problem, because it means I want a part (specifically Audrey) really badly.

There are some advantages on my part though. This company mostly does junior shows and younger kids camps, and this is their first production with an older age group. They're only letting people ages 16-25 audition. Since their actors seem to mostly be kids, that means they'll probably be looking for newer faces rather than relying on their old favorites (like any other theater would). My resume is pretty good, with a whole bunch of plays and three leads in musicals (most recently, Glinda in The Wizard of Oz). I've been to camps and currently take jazz dance. I take voice lessons and got a 1 (top ranking) for my solo at State Solo/Ensemble.

So while it's not my skill that I'm worried about, I just wanna know what else I can do to make a good impression. I'm planning on auditioning on the first day at an earlier time, so that I'll stand out in their minds; is that a good idea? I only have to prepare a few bars of music, then they'll offer a cold reading or teach a little dance if they like my voice. Is there any advice you guys could give me?

Also, if anybody wants to talk about their other auditions or if they need advice for a similar problem, feel free to discuss in this thread!

2. joshsbach

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay