1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to tell if a girl is lesbian without asking her?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by sapphiregirl, Jun 2, 2015.

1. sapphiregirl

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    So I'm a newbie... and I'm clueless in this area. I apologize if I offend anyone, as I know people don't often mould to typical stereotypes. I'd just like to know if there are some general signs I can look for in other girls that might suggest they're lesbian or bi.

There's a girl at my work who I think is really cute. I have a feeling she might be gay but I can't ask her because we barely know each other. The way she walks really got me - it's this masculine, low, swaying walk with her shoulders hunched. She wears skate shoes, where most of us wear ballet flats. Her hair's always messy/not much effort made and she has a long side fringe. I looked at her Instagram which was set to public, and in all her pics she's wearing flannels, t-shirts or denim collared shirts etc. I know that probably doesn't mean much, but could she be?

Is there any other way to tell without directly asking? Again, I'm sorry to talk about stereotypes. Just want to know how to pick up on the signs :eusa_doh:

#1 sapphiregirl, Jun 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015
  2. Sienrar

If she has a girlfriend.

3. Fallingdown7

Fallingdown7 Guest

Honestly, I don't think there is a way to know without asking.

Lesbians can be hyperfeminine, pass as straight, and get hit on by guys. Straight women can be masculine, cut their hair short and act like one of the guys (My mom's friend is like the girl you described and she has a husband).