1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subbing High School

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Gerry, Dec 5, 2008.

1. Gerry

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    As many of you know, I'm a substitute teacher. Today I was subbing a high school math class (4 classes of Algebra and 2 of Geometry). Wow -- those kids were pretty bad. In all 6 periods students were supposed to take a quiz but they didn't seem to care about their grades at all! Over half of the students turned in incomplete quizzes. It really seems like studnets (high school) do not respect a guest teacher when their teacher is absent. I subbed in for elementary school (3rd grade) right before Thanksgiving and they respected me and actually like you! Lol. Hmm. I guess this is just a rant about my day at work today. But do kids really not care about their education when they get to the high school level? The classes I subbed today sure seemed like it. My 2 Geometry classes were great -- it's the 4 Algebra classes (all freshman) that couldn't behave. Anyway that's all.

2. Amy

Amy

Bingo.

Freshmen are idiots. No offense, but they are.

3. EM68

Don't take it personally Gerry. Even when I was in school (a long, long time ago) kids took advantage of substitute teachers. Just teach the classes like you would normally do and if anyone mouths off or acts out take appropriate action. Keep you cool. If they see you get flustered, then they will act out more. Good Luck!

4. Completely true. By about Sophomore/Junior year kids mellow out considerably. I always took my education seriously but those who goof off when they're younger tend to get better as they get older.

5. Grof142007