1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

USA is Our Hope No More

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by thevenerable, Jun 11, 2015.

1. thevenerable

Southeast Asia - yeah it's not just South and East
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    As a gay man living in a country where LGBT rights aren't really recognized by the government, I want to move to another country someday where I can feel safe and accepted. This is why I am studying well to finish my Electrical Engineering course and find a job overseas maybe two years after graduation.

Here in the Philippines, USA is one of the popular countries when it comes to equal rights so, naturally, USA is our hope to achieve our absolute happiness. Unfortunately, the "land of the free" is, I think, not a good option nowadays.

The issue about Caitlyn Jenner, the issue about its police department which now branches out to---believe it or not---other racism issues. I cannot, for the love of whoever's up there, believe that USA is now facing these kind of issues in the 21st century, right now, 2015!!

Really? As an outsider, I thought that Americans are open-minded, liberated, and accepting. Why are these things happening now?

It's like your clock is going backwards. Maybe USA is too progressive and is now resetting itself back to 1900's.

For the oppressed, like the LGBT community here in the Philippines, USA is our hope no more.

#1 thevenerable, Jun 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
  2. alwaysforever

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone