1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Work Issue

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by thepandaboss, Jun 24, 2015.

1. thepandaboss

So, I'm a freelance writer and for the most part I love what I do. My hours are flexible, it pays the rent, and it's something I usually enjoy doing. Most of my income comes from a handful of clients I've been working for for months. I have no complaints about most of them.

One client is a guy just a little older than me and he works for a media company. He usually wants me to work on slideshows for the websites his company makes. It's usually an okay gig- I get paid by the slide in each slideshow. However, it seems like he expects me to drop everything and work on his stuff.

A usual week for him goes like this: he'll tell me he has a project and he gives me a quantity of slideshows, usually about 10-25 slideshows. He gives me a deadline, which is usually about 5-7 days away. I agree to the terms and we go from there.

However, it literally takes him about a day or two to actually give me the assignment. By the time I finally have the topics he wants me to work on, I only have about 3-4 days at most to work on them.

He wants me to come up with all the content. The writing, pictures, etc. It's usually not so bad and they're very easy to write but he wants a lot of stuff in relatively little time. Each slideshow usually takes about an hour or two to write. If I have to write 25 slideshows in 4 days, that's about 6-12 hours a day of just gallery work. Not to mention, I have other clients plus school I need to work with. Granted, I work from home but if I only work on his stuff, my other clients suffer and I'll fail class.

I actually just asked him to extend my deadline for a couple of days, since this would give me time to deal with my other clients and take care of his stuff. But this time he won't budge. I'm honestly really, really burnt out. Yet he pays okay.