1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which language should I learn first?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Lazuri, Jun 27, 2015.

?

Which language should I tackle first?

1. French

34 vote(s)
    64.2%
  2. German

19 vote(s)
    35.8%
  1. Lazuri

I've decided I want to learn a new language, but I don't know which one of these I should start with. Help me out!

2. Aussie792

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    As a speaker of both, I'd recommend French first. It's more widely-spoken and the grammar is good as a warm-up (in terms of difficulty) to German grammar.

3. BelleFromHell

I'm currently learning German and Japanese, so I chose German. German is in the same language family as English, and a lot of the words are similar, so it may be a little easier to learn (although I have no experience with French, so I could be wrong). I think French also has a lot of words that sound different than they look, and that sounds harder to me.

That being said, German is no walk in the park. It still has its fair share of challenges. It's worth it, though. :slight_smile:

4. Lazuri

German has many similarities with Swedish too. In fact, speaking both English and Swedish fluently, I've noticed I can understand large parts of the language as long as it's spoken slowly. French would probably be more fun to learn, though.

5. LesbianThrasher

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I've never took much German but I did take 3 years of French and let me just say, French is easier to learn and I feel that it's easier to pronounce. Even though I only took a couple years of French, I felt like I could speak it a bit fluently and some words are identical to English so it wouldn't be a problem. Not to mention that I heard French is the easiest language to learn but I don't know if it's true or not.

6. BelleFromHell