1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How long did it take you to accept your sexual/gender identity?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by syds, Jul 19, 2015.

1. syds

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Once you realized that your sexual or gender identity is what it is how long did it take you to learn to embrace it and be proud of it (if you are even at that point yet)? I've recently accepted the fact that I am bisexual but I'm still learning to be okay with it and I'm not close to being able to embrace it. I guess I'm looking for hope that I will get there eventually. :icon_wink

2. The Wallflower

3. LesbianThrasher

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    I believe only a couple of months (maybe 5 months? I don't know) to realize I was a lesbian and at the time I was okay with it. Now, I think I'm still having trouble with fully accepting myself which is a surprise 'cause I thought I did a long time ago and now I'm doubting my sexual orientation even though it's pretty clear to me.

4. BryanM

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I knew that I was different from most of the boys in my classes around age 6 or 7, but had no clue what it was yet. At age 8 or 9, I started having crushes on male figures in pop culture and such, but I also learned what the word "gay" actually meant, and hearing it used in such a negative manner, I suppressed these crushes, and got very involved with religion and other things such as that. I still leaned very liberal, and was pro-choice and pro-LGBT even whenever I was a born-again Southern Baptist, but I never really started talking about my beliefs until I was older.