1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"good" grad school gpa

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by ECMember, Dec 26, 2015.

1. ECMember

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I'm not sure who in here is in graduate school("grad school") or PhD school in the United States or abroad.

I'm in a MA(Master of Arts) History program in my university in Texas.

I've completed 3 semesters of graduate work. I've completed one semester internship at a institute/musuem place. I've been a Graduate Research Assistant at my history department also.

But I'm unsure if my GPA is shit. Let me explain

Fall 2014 semester my grades were
    B-, B, A- I had a 3.11 GPA. I mean shit happens, it was my first grad school semester.

I work a little better in the Spring 2015 semester when I got a A, A-, B-. I had about a 3.4 semester GPA and bumped up my GPA to a 3.28 overall.

I just completed my Fall 2015 semester and had B, B, A- so I had a 3.22 semester GPA and my overall GPA went down a little to 3.26.

I'm unsure if my GPA is shit or not. I just know, that the minimum GPA to "stay" in the Graduate College at my university is 3.0. I mean anything under 3.0 is a sign for concern as I've heard. My college isn't prestigious like UT-Austin but we are in the UT system though.

I'm not a dumbass, but I felt like a 3.26 is crap. I haven't failed a class, but I know I can do better. I've had good rapport with faculty members I've had classes with.

My goal for the upcoming Spring 2016 semester is to get my overall GPA to a 3.4 at least. I'm close it.

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone