1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A LGBT Teacher

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Ninetales, Jan 30, 2016.

1. Ninetales

Out Status:
    Some people
    I am working towards becoming a high school teacher. I am in my last semester before I become certified. I would like to be able to discuss sexuality with my students and be able to share that I am pansexual. Recently though I have been questioning my gender identity, and I have been thinking that nI maybe genderfluid. I am sure I know the answer to this, but how would you all feel if you had a genderfluid teaching in school? How do you think your parents would react to a genderfluid teacher?:smilewave

2. Distant Echo

Personally I wouldn't care but there are parents who will. I'm probably not the average parent.
    I'm also not sure what Te situation is with US schools about discussing this sort of thing with students....perhaps some research?
    But do nothing until you are sure who you are...speaking out then revising later would be very bad...get yourself sorted out before you say anything.

3. TempUsername3

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    From my own experience. My parents never really cared what I was taught/learned as long as my report card had good scores.

My parents sent me to a Christian private school that taught bible teachings that were different to what my parents believed because it just happened to be a better school than the one on my street.

If you're a good teacher, you're gonna have students that will want to be in your class. At the end of the day its about the lives you change. The students you inspire. The people you help.

Just make sure your sharing is relevant to the topic. Don't go teaching Pythagoras's Theorem and throw in a side note about your sexuality. Also, maybe discuss it with the principal just so there are no surprises when a parent comes yelling.

4. CJliving

Gender Pronoun:
    He