1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not Being Accepted by Gay Community

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Iowan1976, Apr 30, 2016.

1. Iowan1976

Hi,

I need some advice. I have been working my way out of the closet for a few months now. I decided that I did not want to spend my life alone..and that I need to create a positive world that I live in. To do that, I decided to get out where other gay people are to be a part of something...and not spend my evenings alone.

Well, I have gone to several places around my area that are frequented by gay people in my area. I also have gone out to the gay bars in the towns that are within an 90 minutes of my location, and I have joined several gay group through social media...and even to some outings in person.

I am more of an introvert, so going to places new to me is a challenge. So the first time I went to a place, I was quiet. After that, I starting walking up to people to try and start a conversation...and got pretty much nothing in return from the other people I talked to.

I do have to admit that in one outing I went on I did not help the situation when a group of gay guys were making fun of another gay guy because he was too much of a fem. That made me mad, and I approached this group and told them that it made me mad that we are part of a group that is fighting to be accepted by the mainstream, and here we are shooting ourselves in the foot by making fun of another gay person. So that did not help score points in making friends.

I am not going to give up going to other outings in the future, or to stop frequenting these gay-friendly establishments, but I feel after about three months of work on this, i feel like I am not making any forward movement on making friends, or connections in the gay community. What else can I do to help move myself forward?

2. Pret Allez

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual