1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does Romeo even deserve to be with Juliet?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Ambivalence0219, May 23, 2016.

1. Hello, everyone.

I'm still relatively new to all of this, so bear with me here. There's probably a thread like this someplace else out there, but for lack of ability to find one, I've taken it upon myself to start my own. Just to give you all some context, I am a teenage boy (16 years old, if you want to be specific) who has recently come to terms with being bisexual, particularly as it relates to my romantic interest in other boys (which is currently stronger than that for girls in my case). I also have social anxiety, low self esteem, a propensity for avoidant behavior, and immense selflessness, which may all be coming into play. Now, on to the matter at hand.

Over the course of this year, I have grown quite attached to a fellow classmate and friend of mine, and have begun to think of having a relationship with him beyond the platonic sense. One might even say that I am completely and irrevocably taken with him, utterly smitten with him to the point that my heart rate elevates when I see him walking down the hall and I become even more flustered than usual when talking to him. Now, you've probably heard all of that before. You must be wondering, what makes this story any different from the thousands of love stories out there? Well, for starters, there won't be a happy ending, or even a remotely pleasant one for me. While there is no explicit evidence to the contrary, it is quite clear that he is not primarily interested romantically in boys and even if he were, he would not be interested in me.