1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Opinion article

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Lychee, Mar 18, 2009.

1. Lychee

For our first ever student-run school newsletter I've been assigned an opinion piece on anything. However, I'm not allowed to do anything too controversial, as the principal of my (Christian) school will be reading the newsletter first.

I'm hoping I can do gay marriage, but don't know if they'll let me. Instead of getting a straight out no, I decided to write an article and then get that read, because it might look better if I do that, and be less likely to be killed. (The article, not me)

The problem is, I have never written an opinion piece before, let alone one on gay rights. Anyone got any ideas?

2. Just Adam

an opinion piece is just that your opinion lychee. if you want to do gay rights and why not :slight_smile: allthough some would see it as controversial all u need do is write down your views what you think its about what its for why its important to you and the lgbt community it just has to be insightfull maybe do a search for statistics like the other topics on here on same sex parenting 54444and maybe include a list of lgbt people who contributed to the world just a thought im sure youll do a smashiing job and i dont see how the principal would want to scrap it as its allowing people to express views and if people have a problem they should write into the school paper and debate them and im not sure how he can scrap it as im sure it would be discrimination lol and has noone heard freedom of the press lol

3. gazwkd

gazwkd Guest

I think you'd be best placed to keep your opinion's low key. Keep to less controversial subjects for the first few then you can gradually move onto the more controversial.

4. The Enigma

The Enigma Guest

*ahem

I feel this must be said.

Are you :***: crazy?