1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LGBT and Travelling?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by SohoDreamer, Apr 26, 2017.

1. SohoDreamer

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Anyone else afraid of travelling extensively as an LGBT person? I'm not just referring to countries where this is extremely dangerous and can lead to prison or worse, but also to countries you've never been before where you might be a little less sure of your surroundings and how it's going to be taken if you were to display PDA with a partner or to hook up etc etc.

I'm currently a student but when I graduate what I most want to do is travel around the world, including to countries where it's not necessarily going to be safe to be myself. I think one of the biggest things about travelling is discovering yourself and embracing other cultures and so I don't want to hide a huge aspect of myself (especially as I've done this for most of my life at home) when I'm exploring the planet.

How do others feel about this?

2. Assassin'sKat

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Yeah, I'm afraid to leave the country. I am not just afraid of anti-lgbt laws, but I am also afraid of hate crimes. I feel like Canada and some places in Europe are safe, and probably Japan(and maybe some other Asian countries, but not many), but anywhere else I am not sure about.

3. timo

Not really, actually. Of course some places are best to be avoided (all the usual suspects) but most other places should be fine.