1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone know anything about publishing?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Crusader, May 24, 2009.

1. Crusader

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Well to start off, i had been rather unhappy recently, which is when i was challenged by my best friend as to why. After thinking i had given up on what i had wanted to do and ended up in a dead end and rather mundane job. So with two weeks off work, i sort of went crazy, and have finished a manuscript i had been playing around with for like six years.

My question is does anyone know the process of getting published, and finding Literary Agents etc.

Thanks in advance =]

2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Offhand, I don't. I know some people in other media, but no one in the book publishing game.

Whatever happens, I'd urge you to keep writing. Don't let your success (or lack thereof) alter that. I've been writing for going on twenty years, and other than a few pieces for a newspaper, I haven't sold anything. But then again, that hasn't been my aim. I like writing. Some of it is just for me, and some of it I post online for others to enjoy. If you can make your living at it, by all means, but if that doesn't seem in the cards, that's no reason to stop. :slight_smile:

Lex

3. Enzian

I know a little. If it's fiction, and if you're aiming for a major publisher (which, commercially, is the best choice), you should DEFINITELY get a literary agent. The Writers' Handbook, issued annually, has a comprehensive list of reputable agents in many different fields of literature and geographical areas.