1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I say this...

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Sylver, Jan 22, 2010.

1. Sylver

So I'm relatively new to the whole "gay thing" :slight_smile: and I need a little help with the accepted terminology. Can I use the word "gays" if I want to collectively refer to gays and lesbians? Or should I say "LGBT persons" or "gays and lesbians" or something like that? I'm not clear if "gay" refers only to males, or if it also can mean males and females if I mean a group or community? Thanks!

2. Shevanel

Queer seems to be a good blanket term that doesn't usually offend anybody.

3. Austin

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Gay refers to males and females but mostly males. I'd either say "gays and lesbians" or "homosexuals."

4. Zach1992

I think gay is the most general term.

I hate 'homosexual' it sounds way too much like a medical term.

5. Synth177

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Except me. I've never really like the word.

6. Shevanel

Like I said, :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: Usually xD

I don't like Gays, because I'm not gay.

I don't actually use Queers myself, I just say LGBT people, or not straight, or unstraight xD

7. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I think LGBT is the most widely accepted term these days. Younger generations are increasingly using "queer" but some will have a negative reaction towards it, if they are being described as being queer. Usually when I refer to the community as a whole I will use LGBT rather than queer or gay.

8. Owen

In Loving Memory Full Member