1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unemployed

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Johnnieguy, Jan 26, 2010.

1. Johnnieguy

Okay, so I graduated from college in May 09 with my BA in Biology, and was accepted to a PhD program (2 as a matter of fact, but the one that I really wanted to attend..U of MN Twin Cities didn't have the $$ to pay for my stipend and tuition waiver, so I ended up at NDSU who did have the $$).

The work was...not fun. I loved the classes, but I hated being in a lab (being alone all the time and never, ever having anything do what it was supposed to do). In addition, Fargo, ND isn't the most accepting of towns, and so there weren't many places I could go to meet guys. I joined the Ten Percent Society and met some awesome gays there, and we even went to the local gay bar once (but it is only open on Fridays and Saturdays which I find odd). But, still, I couldn't bear the thought of being there, alone, for 4-6 years (depending on how long it would take my research to succeed). Then, there is the matter of post-docs, which would require me to move to other, less than desirable towns..Laramie, WY....Brookings, SD......Aberdeen, ID.......Lincoln, NE....Urbana, IL...etc All rural, small, homophobic towns. Then, I would need to relocate again for a faculty job...Years and years of constantly moving, never being able to put down roots let alone find a relationship.

So, I packed up and moved back home w/ the parents in the Twin Cities so I can find a job here..I have only been looking for about a month. I have only gotten an interview with Applebee's, which I didn't get..not that I'm upset about it..I didn't really want it, and a salaried job would be preferable since I did spend $120,000 to get my BA in the first place (I only owe $17,000 now)