1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm not sure about my SAT results;

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Mind Freak, Feb 11, 2010.

1. Mind Freak

SAT results finally came in! : )
    I got a 660 on reading and 490 in math. I think the math one is tragic. I'm not good at math (clearly).

I've taken geometry and algebra1-3 but still I get the same score on the math part. Granted I didn't study but it still seems like there would have been some sort of improvement from when I took the PSAT a year ago. Do you think being sick would have a major impact on it? I was blowing my nose every 2 minutes. Haha.

To have a better chance of getting into the colleges I want to get into, I would need to improve my math score by like 110 pts to be average. That sounds like an insane amount of improvement to me.

Hopefully I can pull it off though. Would you guys like to share any success stories about improving SAT grades and how you did it?

I'd appreciate it. ^-^

And yes, I could always ask my guidance counseler but I love having y'alls input, it makes me happy. :grin:

2. NickT

If you want some help with math I'd be happy to offer it! My most recent score is 590 while my highest is 620. Best not to get too worried about it though.

3. Johnnieguy

I took the ACT....But, in reality, the SAT and ACT do not matter much to colleges. It looks like you've got the score to get you into most state colleges or private liberal arts colleges that are out there. Look at the admissions pages of the schools you are interested in. They will generally give a profile for the freshman class. Things like grades/GPA, challenging coursework, extra-curriculars, teacher reccomendations, admissions essays are all equally as important as the dumb tests (which are expensive, by the way, and once you get accepted into college, they don't matter at all).

----------