1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tipping

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by 4 seat, Mar 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 4 seat

So, I'm a server at P.F. Chang's and I've been doing it for a couple years now, and I'm pretty experienced. It's an interesting business for a couple reasons, but one is that even though I'm a very open-minded, tolerant person in every aspect of my life(obviously), I am, and all experienced servers are for that matter, extremely judgmental when working. I'm tolerant of all races, creeds and everything, except when I'm serving, because I find that many, MANY stereotypes about tippers are true. Very often, we find that if you're not white, you tip poorly, if you're foreign, you tip poorly, if you're young or old, you tip poorly. There are exceptions, but they are VERY few and far between, in my experience and all my coworkers'. Basically, while we're nice, tolerant people outside of work, the moment we step into our restaurant, we become members of the KKK. Stupid, but true, and not without reason.

Oh yeah, I'm not out to anyone at work. Anyways, all the servers, guys and girls, will fight over who gets a table of gay guys, because gay guys in general tip very well (I know I do!). Lesbians on the other hand, usually tip VERY poorly. I will rarely get a lesbian table that tips more than 10%, but gay guys will throw money at me for barely doing anything. I asked if they tip the female servers better and all of them said no, lesbians are just bad tippers. I find this to be true.

So, basically, WTF?

2. Swamp56

Swamp56 Guest

Interesting.

I tip based on the performance of the server/waiter. If the person did a normal job, then I do 15% (I actually calculate it >.<). If they were rude and screwed up my entire order, then I'll do like 10%. If they were phenomenal, then I'll do over.