1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jobs.

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by jroakwood, Aug 27, 2007.

1. jroakwood

I was just wondering what everyone here does for work, especially you teenagers, as i am finnaly getting a job again and i wanna see what other people do and if they enjoy it or not.
    :icon_bigg

2. Chaos

Well, I work part time at a restaurant. It's fast food and pretty bad, but it's not too busy and is kind of slack. I do maintenance on the weekend, or I work as a cashier, or else I make food. I mostly make food and work in the back. I've been there for just under a year. I don't like it and want a new job that doesn't involve food. I make about... $8.10 an hour. Most of the cool people quit or moved on... I so need to move on too, unless of course they give me a hefty raise.

3. Paul_UK

Paul_UK Guest

I don't know what your interests/skills are but I would suggest you avoid working in IT in a large corporate. I did for a couple of years and hated being little more than an instruction following chimp! I did learn some stuff from it though.

I currently work in website design and IT for a small company (about 15 people) which is great. The only drawback is that I am the only person in the company doing this work (it is a retail shop with two online stores) which means there is nobody else to discuss things with at a technical level. However the eCommerce software we use has a good users forum where I can discuss things with other users.

I have always preferred working for smaller companies because there is more involvement with what's going on, and more variety in the work. However some very small companies are very badly run, being for the sole benefit of the family that own it, who have no respect for their employees.